Like us on: ADT facebook

2013 African Diaspora World Tourism Awards
Hall of Fame Honorees

1) Jean-Michel Abimbola (Benin)

2) Governor Godswill Akpabio (Nigeria)

3) Hon. Amina S. Ali (Tanzania)

4) Muhammad and Lonnie Ali (USA)

5) Hon. David Allen (Bermuda)

6) Rauf Aregbesola (Nigeria)

7) Billy Arquimimo (Brazil)

8) Dr. Molefi Asante (USA)

9) Dr. Ndugu T'Ofori Atta (USA)

10) Salif Badine (Senegal)

11) D'Army Bailey (USA)

12) Hon. Najib Balala (Kenya)

13) Maria Baryamujura (Uganda)

14) Michael A. Battle (USA)

15) Harry Belafonte (USA)

16) Dr. Yosef A. Ben-Jochannan (Ethiopia/ USA)

17) John Watusi Branch (USA)

18) Dr. Ewart Brown (Bermuda)

19) Dr. Lonnie Bunch (USA)

20) Dr. Emory Campbell (USA)

21) Senator Allen Chastanet (Caribbean)

22) Dr. Elijah Chingosho (Kenya)

23) Minister Perry Christie (Bahamas)

24) Xenora Clayton (USA)

25) Congressman James Clyburn (USA)

26) Dr. Johnnetta Cole (USA)

27) Tadelech Dalecho (Ethiopia)

28) Hon. Akua Sena Dansua (Ghana)

29) Dr. Djibril Diallo (Senegal/USA)

30) Cheick Sidi Diarra (Africa/USA)

31) Cheikh Anta Diop (Senegal)

32) Howard Dobson (USA)

33) Thomas Dorsey (USA)

34) Dr. Lincoln Douglas (Trinidad & Tobago)

35) Babatunde Raji Fashola (Nigeria)

36) David Fleming (UK)

37) Rev. Eugene Franklin (USA)

38) John Hope Franklin (USA)

39) Dr. Joel Freeman (USA)

40) Len Garrison (Great Britian)

41) Dr. Julius Garvey (Jamaica/USA)

42) El Hadj Baba Hamadou (Cameroon)

43) Dr. Henry Louis Gates (USA)

44) Hon. Kenneth Gbandi (Germany)

45) Danny Glover (USA)

46) Dr. Michael Gomez (USA)

47) Carrole Guntley (Jamaica)

48) Freddye and Jake Henderson (USA)

49) Solomon Herbert (USA)

50) Dr. Asa Hilliard (USA)

51)Dr. Fred Hord (USA)

52) Dr. Leonard Kweku Jefferies (USA)

53) Fatou Mas Jobe-Njie (Gambia)

54) Harry Johnson (USA)

55) Coretta Scott King (USA)

56) Fela Anikulapo-Kuti (Nigeria)

57) Prince Kum'a Ndumbe III (Cameroon)

58) Ephram Kamuntu (Uganda)

59) Dr. Maulana Karenga (USA)

60) Juan Pablo Lambey (Belize)

61) Rep. John Lewis (USA)

62) Michael Lomax (USA)

63) Dr. Richard Long (USA)

64) Rev. Joseph and Evelyn Lowery (USA)

65) Dr. Patrick Lozes (France)

66) John Lynch (Jamaica)

67) Rita and Bob Marley (Jamaica)

68) Dr. Elmer and Joanne Martin (USA)

69) Paul Mashatile (South Africa)

70) Olusegun Mimiko (Ondo State Nigeria)

71) Dr. Ronald Myers (USA)

72) Walter Mzembi (Zimbabwe)

73) Abdias Nascimento (Brazil)

74) Youssou N'dour (Senegal)

75) Dr. Webber Ndoro(South Africa)

76) Dr. Wade Nobles (USA)

77) Dr. Yaw Nyarko (USA)

78) Joe Opala (USA/Sierre Leonne)

79) Senator Donald Oliver (Canada)

80) Rev. Dr. William P. Oliver (Canada)

81) Minister Percy Paris (Canada)

82) Dr. Jean Ping (Ethiopia)

83) Dr. Runoko Rashidi (USA)

84) Paul Reid (United Kingdom)

85) Warren M. Robbins (USA)

86) Dr. Edward W. Robinson, Jr. (USA)

87) Otunba Olusegun Runsewe (Nigeria)

88) Dr. Ivan Sertima (Guyana/ USA)

89) Richard Skerritt (St. Kitts/Caribbean)

90) Dr. James Small (USA)

91) Tavis Smiley (USA)

92) Dr. Quintard Taylor (USA)

93) Ogo Sow (Senegal/USA)

94) Rev. Leon H. Sullivan (USA)

95) Honorable Dudley Thompson (USA)

96) Ikechi Uko (Nigeria)

97) Murray Vidockler (USA)

98) Former President Abdoulaye Wade (Senegal)

99) Bettye Yates (USA)

100) Ambassador Andy Young (USA)

Representative John Lewis Rep John Lewis Among ADWT Hall of Fame Honorees
The Democratic U.S. Representative for Georgia's 5th congressional district and Dean of the Georgia Congressional Delegation, Rep. John Lewis, since his election in 1987 has been re-elected 17 times, each time winning with at least 69 per cent of the vote and once as much as 78 per cent. He has helped with lawmaking on some of the nation's most significant tributes and monuments recognizing black cultural heritage. Rep. Lewis chaired the congressional task force that led to the prominent placement of two plaques in the visitor's center of the U.S. Capitol acknowledging contributions of slave labor. He co-wrote the legislation authorizing the Martin Luther King, Jr. National Memorial. Lewis introduced a resolution in 1986 to encourage and support efforts to build the Smithsonian's National Museum of African American History and Culture scheduled to open in 2015. Because of his legislative efforts, the Selma Bridge in Alabama has become part of the Civil Rights National Historic Trail.

Rep. Lewis was one of the Big Six leaders in the American Civil Rights Movement. He played a key role in the struggle to end legalized racial discrimination segregation. Lewis helped plan the historic March on Washington in 1963 for Dr. King's "I Have a Dream" speech. At 23 he was the youngest speaker that day, and is the last remaining speaker from the march. By the time he was elected chairman of Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee a few years later, he had been beaten by mobs and police, and arrested 24 times in the non-violent struggle for justice.

Lewis became nationally known during his prominent role in the Selma to Montgomery marches and on March 7, 1965- a day that would become known as "Bloody Sunday"- Lewis and fellow activist Hosea Williams led over 600 marchers across the Edmund Pettus Bridge in Selma, Alabama. Met by Alabama State Troopers who discharged tear gas and beat them with night sticks, Lewis's skull was fractured, and he bears head scars that are still visible today.

Because of his courage and tenacious adherence to the philosophy of reconciliation and non-violence, he emerged as a leader, and today he is recognized as one of the most important leaders of the Civil Rights movement. Serving as a member of Atlanta City Council and a member of the Carter administration before being elected to Congress, Lewis is the recipient of many awards including the Presidential Medal of Freedom from President Barack Obama in 2010, the Spingarn Medal from the NAACP, the First Lyndon Baines Johnson Liberty and Justice for All Award and the Dole Leadership Prize from the Robert J. Dole Institute of Politics and many others. In 2012, Lewis was awarded honorary LL.D. degrees from Brown University, Harvard University, and the University of Connecticut Law School.

Known among his colleagues as the "Conscience of Congress," The Atlanta Journal-Constitution once said Lewis was the "only former major civil rights leader who extended his fight for human rights and racial reconciliation to the halls of Congress."

(Other Bios of Hall of Fame Honorees coming soon.)